Remember Me
OR

 
We Dream of Space: A Newbery Honor Award Winner
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Children's - 3rd-7th Grade, Age 8-12 
READABILITY
4.6 
PAGES
400 p. ; 
PUBLISHER
$8.99
Retail $9.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 91
Quality Paper
ISBN 9780062747310
Make Way For Books
As if typical adolescent angst was not enough, Cash, Bird and Fitch, three seventh-grade siblings, must deal with their parents’ disintegrating marriage too. Each struggles with a quirky personality, unique habits, and bumpy friendships. But reaching across to help each other through these trials brings them to a unique sense of family.
Publisher Summary
A Newbery Honor Book - BookPage Best Books - Chicago Public Library Best Fiction - Goodreads Choice Awards Nominee - Horn Book Fanfare - New York Times Notable Children's Book - School Library Journal Best Book - Today Show Pick - An ALA Notable Book

"A 10 out of 10 . . . Anyone interested in science, sibling relationships, and friendships will enjoy reading We Dream of Space."--Time for Kids

Newbery Medalist and New York Times-bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. This acclaimed Newbery Honor Book is a great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca Stead.

Cash, Fitch, and Bird Nelson Thomas are three siblings in seventh grade together in Park, Delaware. In 1986, as the country waits expectantly for the launch of the space shuttle Challenger, they each struggle with their own personal anxieties. Cash, who loves basketball but has a newly broken wrist, is in danger of failing seventh grade for the second time. Fitch spends every afternoon playing Major Havoc at the arcade on Main and wrestles with an explosive temper that he doesn't understand. And Bird, his twelve-year-old twin, dreams of being NASA's first female shuttle commander, but feels like she's disappearing.

The Nelson Thomas children exist in their own orbits, circling a tense and unpredictable household, with little in common except an enthusiastic science teacher named Ms. Salonga. As the launch of the Challenger approaches, Ms. Salonga gives her students a project--they are separated into spacecraft crews and must create and complete a mission. When the fated day finally arrives, it changes all of their lives and brings them together in unexpected ways.

Told in three alternating points of view, We Dream of Space is an unforgettable and thematically rich novel for middle grade readers.

We Dream of Space is illustrated throughout by the author.

 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Grasping Mysteries: Girls Who Loved Math Word of Mouse The Landry News True (. . . Sort Of) Earthquake!: A Story of the San Francisco Earthquake Much ADO about Baseball Ruby Holler Loser The Million Dollar Race The Magic in Changing Your Stars The Kite Fighters Breaker Boy In Over Their Heads, 2 Caddie Woodlawn's Family Ida B: . . . and Her Plans to Maximize Fun, Avoid Disaster, and (Possibly) Save the World The Last Holiday Concert The Crossover: A Newbery Award Winner Who Stole the Wizard of Oz? Bob Seesaw Girl