Remember Me
OR

 
Angel on the Square
AUTHOR
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Children's - Grade 4-6, Age 9-11 
READABILITY
5.8 
PAGES
293 p. ; 
KEYWORDS
 
$8.49
Retail $9.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 2
Paperback
ISBN 9780064408790
Publisher Summary
In 1913 Russia, Katya eagerly anticipates leaving her St. Petersburg home to join her mother, a lady-in-waiting in the household of Tsar Nicholas II, but the ensuing years bring world war, revolution, and changes to her life.

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes “an absorbing saga”* about a young heroine coming of age in the tumultuous years leading up to the Russian revolution.

Gripping, accessible historical fiction that's perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

In the fall of 1914, safe behind palace walls, Katya Ivanova sees St. Petersburg as a magical place.

The daughter of a lady in waiting to the Empress, Katya spends all her time with the Grand Duchesses, and the royal family feels like her own. But outside the palace, a terrible war is sweeping through Europe, and Russia is beginning to crumble under the weight of a growing revolution.

Now, as Katya’s once-certain future begins to dissolve, she must seek to understand what is happening to her beloved country and, for the first time in her life, take charge of her own destiny.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into  compelling historical fiction.

*Kirkus
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Finding Sophie Behind Rebel Lines : The Incredible Story of Emma Edmonds, Civil War Spy Invention of Hugo Cabret : A Novel in Words and Pictures Quake! : Disaster in San Francisco, 1906 Storyteller Remember Me : A Search for Refuge in Wartime Britain Some Kind of Courage Some Kind of Courage Young Patriot : The American Revolution As Experienced by One Boy Great Trouble : A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel Across the Lines Sent Forty Acres and Maybe a Mule Mr. Lincoln's Drummer Sugar Night Spies Only the Names Remain : The Cherokees and the Trail of Tears Joshua's Song Blood on the River : James Town, 1607 Detective's Assistant