Remember Me
OR

 
$5.94
Retail $6.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 27
Paperback
ISBN 9780064406192
Publisher Summary
Twelve-year-old Mary and her older brother and sister tend the family farm on Michigan's Mackinac Island while their father is away fighting the British in the War of 1812

From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Behind Rebel Lines : The Incredible Story of Emma Edmonds, Civil War Spy Out of My Mind Guns for General Washington : A Story of the American Revolution Single Shard Gabriel's Journey Wintering Well Remember Me : A Search for Refuge in Wartime Britain Roman Conspiracy Lily's Crossing Gabriel's Horses Black-Eyed Susan Some Kind of Courage After the Train Everlasting Now, the Iron Thunder : The Battle Between the Monitor & the Merrimac: A Civil War Novel Traitor : The Case of Benedict Arnold Chase Night Spies Caddie Woodlawn Young Patriot : The American Revolution As Experienced by One Boy