Remember Me
OR

 
$5.94
Retail $6.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 27
Paperback
ISBN 9780064406192
Publisher Summary
From the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird comes a gripping historical novel about a young girl during the British-American War of 1812.

When war erupts between England and America, it brings change and uncertainty, even to Michigan's remote Mackinac Island.  For young Mary O'Shea, the hardest change is the departure of her father, who leaves Mackinac to join the American Army. With her sister and brother, Mary must tend the farm, deal with the hardships of British occupation, and hope for the safe return of their father.

With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Ruta Sepetys and Elizabeth Wein.

Twelve-year-old Mary and her older brother and sister tend the family farm on Michigan's Mackinac Island while their father is away fighting the British in the War of 1812
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Young Patriot : The American Revolution As Experienced by One Boy Emma-Jean Lazarus Fell Out of a Tree Cabin on Trouble Creek Sugar Lily's Crossing John Paul Jones : The Pirate Patriot Toliver's Secret SeeSaw Girl Great Trouble : A Mystery of London, the Blue Death, and a Boy Called Eel Some Kind of Courage Among the Enemy Peppermints In The Parlor Caddie Woodlawn's Family Willow Run Blue Willow Blood on the River : James Town, 1607 Secrets of Greymoor Everlasting Now, the Storyteller Single Shard