Remember Me
OR

 
Anna of Byzantium
AUTHOR
ILLUSTRATOR
 
SERIES
 
TYPE
AGE
Teen - Grade 7-9, Age 12-14 
READABILITY
6.4 
PAGES
209 p.  
KEYWORDS
 
$5.94
Retail $6.99

QUANTITY
In Cart: 0
Available: 14
Paperback
ISBN 9780440415367
Publisher Summary
In the eleventh century, the teenage princess Anna Comnena fights for her birthright, the throne to the Byzantine Empire, which she fears will be taken from her by her younger brother John because he is a boy.

For fans of Joan of Arc and Alexander the Great, comes "a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries" about Anna Comnena of the Byzantine Empire.

   Anna Comnena has every reason to feel entitled. She's a princess, her father's firstborn and his chosen successor. Someday she expects to sit on the throne and rule the vast Byzantine Empire. So the birth of a baby brother doesn't perturb her. Nor do the "barbarians" from foreign lands, who think only a son should ascend to power. Anna is as dismissive of them as are her father and his most trusted adviser--his mother, a manipulative woman with whom Anna studies the art of diplomacy. Anna relishes her lessons, proving adept at checkmating opponents in swift moves of mental chess. But as she matures into a young woman, her arrogance and intelligence threaten her grandmother. Anna will be no one's puppet. Almost overnight, Anna sees her dreams of power wrenched from her and bestowed on her little brother. Bitter at the betrayal, Anna waits to avenge herself, and to seize what is rightfully hers.

Praise for Anna of Byzantium:

A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book

An ALA Quick Pick

An ALA Best Book for Young Adults

A Booklist Editor's Choice

A Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction Pick

[STAR] "[Anna of Byzantium] involves readers in a gripping saga of alliances, intrigues, deceits, and treacheries worthy of a place among the tragic myths." — The Bulletin, Starred review

"In the tradition of E. L. Konigsburg's A Proud Taste for Scarlet and Miniver and Karen Cushman's Catherine, Called Birdy comes this story of a real-life historical figure, Anna Commena, groomed to be the sovereign of the Byzantine empire…Barrett uses an effective first-person narrative to draw readers into Anna's story, and the author's precise use of detail helps re-create Anna's world, the palace of Constantinople in the ninth century. . . Readers will be caught up in…this exciting read."—Booklist, Boxed review

"A fascinating mix of history, mystery, and intrigue."-The Horn Book Magazine

"Barrett does a remarkable job of painting moods and emotions with spare, elegant sentences. . . This splendid novel about a neglected period of history is the perfect choice. . . Hard to imagine it being any better written." —VOYA

"This wonderfully engaging novel both entertains and serves as a lively history lesson with its well-researched background, dramatic plot and dimensional characters. Barrett's descriptive, engaging prose will draw readers into a fascinating historical time, filled with political intrigue and a complex, admirable teen protagonist who faces her changing future with an inspiring combination of heart and mind."— Wichita Eagle
 
If you like this book, here are a few more suggestions
Mr. Revere and I : Being an Account of Certain Episodes in the Career of Paul Revere, Esq. As Recently Revealed by His Horse, Scheherazade, Later Pri True Confessions of Charlotte Doyle In Search of Honor My Brother, My Sister, and I Boy Who Harnessed the Wind Mr. Lincoln's Drummer Rascal Golden Bull Small Acts of Amazing Courage White Lilacs Ballad of the Civil War Kids at Work : Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor Midnight Rider Foundling Light in the Forest Incident at Hawk's Hill Turn Homeward, Hannalee Fifth of March : A Story of the Boston Massacre Time Stops for No Mouse Across the Lines